Wednesday, July 1, 2020-Thursday, July 2, 2020: Colorado to Wyoming and Solitude RV Park

Wednesday, 7/1/2020

We got on the road just after 9 A.M.  Our route comprised a series of two-lane highways through very rural areas of Colorado and Wyoming, with only one short stretch on I-80, and was projected to take almost six hours to cover 369 miles.

We enjoyed seeing all the antelope along the way.  We couldn’t believe how many we spotted grazing along the roads.  We also saw a lot of different breeds of cattle grazing in the expansive landscape.  

We crossed into Wyoming, and were disappointed that there was no welcome sign – only signs about Wyoming’s driving laws.

We came across a huge eagle sitting in the middle of the two-lane highway.  As we approached, it hopped to the left, grabbed a prairie dog from the road, and flew away!

We lost about an hour of driving time trying to get diesel.  I had used an app to locate a station with a good price, but that station turned out to be gone.  The next closest station was not designed for large RVs.  When we attempted to go across the way to another station, I told Scott to turn too soon, and we ended up getting back on I-80.  At that point, we decided to just go to the truck stop gas station along I-80.

Signs along I-80 warned that wind speeds were 40 M.P.H.

We stopped at the rest stop at Sweetwater Station.  A modern rest area now with picnic and restroom facilities, this was a historic stopping point along the Oregon Trail as it was the halfway point of the 2,000-mile trail.  The wind at the rest stop was intense!  

It was about 5:30 P.M. when we reached Solitude RV Park in Dubois, WY.  We were met by the local sheriff who showed us to our site.  We were blown away by the huge site and gorgeous views from it!

Thursday, 7/2/2020

After the boys finished school, we crossed onto the public lands that abut the RV park and headed up to the hoodoo that can be seen from our front door.  After a bit of climbing, we reached the base of the hoodoo and were surprised by how huge it is. 

We continued to explore the land beyond the hoodoo.  We saw lots of cool formations, beautiful wildflowers, and spectacular views.  We also came across a number of bones.

I drove into Dubois.  I tried to pick up Scott’s package that we had delivered to the local post office.  The clerk refused to allow me to do so however.  She insisted that Scott pick it up himself.  I checked out the local grocery store and was pleased to see that it was well-stocked with just about everything we might need.

Next, I stopped at the local library.  This is the first library I was able to go inside since Covid-19 resulted in closures back in March.  The librarian said I could get a temporary library card that would allow me to take out two books.  Two!!  I got library cards for the boys so I could take out six books.  Still, six will not last long enough.  In fact, as soon as I got home, Torsten insisted on reading two of the books right away.

In the evening, Scott and I sat out and enjoyed the beautiful scenery while Torsten played with a boy in the RV park.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started